Around Webster: Counseling publications; Biology students; Nurses of the Year; Law women leaders; Buford’s marathon; Alumni teachers honored

| November 15, 2013

Recent honors and professional news about Webster University community members includes:


Counseling: Leiden’s Leembruggen-Kallberg in ‘Counseling Today,’ Hancock an ‘Emerging Leader’

Webster Leiden adjunct Elisabeth Leembruggen-Kallberg is featured in the October edition of Counseling Today (Embracing the life of an expatriate, p. 28-29) an American Counseling Association publication with worldwide readership. Leembruggen-Kallberg teaches in the Department of Behavior and Social Sciences at the Webster University Leiden campus. She also serves as a counselor in the University’s Counseling Center.

Also in Counseling, Ryan Hancock, assistant professor at the home campus in St. Louis, has been named an “Emerging Leader” by the Illinois Counseling Association and the Illinois Association for Specialists in Group Work. The honor gave Hancock the opportunity to engage in an emerging leaders institute in Chicago.


Biology Students Present to American Chemical Society

Devin Ericson and Zachary Zurfluh-Cunningham

Biological Sciences students Devin Ericson and Zachary Zurfluh-Cunningham recently presented their undergraduate research at the Midwest Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society in Springfield, Mo., with associate professor Ryan Groeneman. The trio will be submitting related research for a peer-reviewed journal later this year.

“The conference was such an incredible experience because we were introduced to people in our field of research along with professors and graduate students from other universities. It was truly an amazing experience,” Ericson said.

Read more about their research at Global Thinking.

Nursing Accolades: Zack, Parran Receive Nurse of the Year Honors

Nursing adjunct professor Jeanne Zack was named Nurse of the Year in the Infection Control and Occupational Health category at the March of Dimes Nurse of the Year award ceremony on Nov. 9. Zuck also serves as manager of infection control at Missouri Baptist Medical Center.

Debra Parran was named Nurse of the Year in the Pediatrics category. Parran is a student in Webster’s MSN program and a nurse in the Emergency Department at St. Louis Children’s Hospital.

Legal Studies: Surratt-States Honored as Women Leader

The Hon. Kathy A. Surratt-States, adjunct faculty member for the Legal Studies Department, was one of seven women to be honored by the Archway Chapter of The Links, Incorporated, at the “Salute to Outstanding Women Leaders Luncheon” on Oct. 26.

Five Alumni Receive 2013 Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards

In addition to School of Communications professor Kristen DiFate‘s award (noted previously in Webster Today), five Webster University alumni were also honored with 2013 Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards:

  • Karen Schulz – Wildwood Middle School
  • Nancy Durham – Glenridge Elementary School
  • Mary Kristin Wilkey – Jefferson High School
  • Cynthia Hartwig – St. Louis Community College – Meramec
  • Brenda Baynes – Festus Elementary School
Memphis faculty member Buford ran the Marine Corps Marathon.

Memphis faculty member Buford ran the Marine Corps Marathon.

Memphis’ ‘Moe’ Buford Completes Marine Corps Marathon

Webster University Memphis Naval Support Activity faculty member and NSA Speaker Series team member Maurice “Moe” Buford recently completed the Marine Corps Marathon with a finishing time of 4:47. Buford took inspiration from his students, and hopes his pursuit is an example for “the next generation of leaders.”

“In many ways our students are a lot like me,” he said. “They have a dream of obtaining a quality education at an institution that will challenge them to make a mark on this planet that cannot be erased. I constantly remind my students to go the extra mile, be comfortable being uncomfortable, and to finish well.”

Tags: , ,

Category: Advancement, Alumni, Faculty, Student Affairs and News

Comments are closed.