Carpenter Honored with Student Organization Advisor Award

| May 7, 2015
Student Leadership Awards

Debra Carpenter (center) was honored with the Student Organization Advisor Award for her work with Webster’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) chapter.

Webster University’s School of Communications professor Debra Carpenter was honored at the 22nd Annual Student Leadership Awards Ceremony on April 24. Carpenter was presented with the Student Organization Advisor Award for her work with the Webster chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA).

The Student Organization Advisor Award is presented annually to the faculty or staff member who has done the most outstanding job as an advisor to help support their student organization in achieving their goals and contributing to the growth and learning of the student officers and members.

Carpenter’s Impact on Students

The nominations for Carpenter referenced a wide variety of key characteristics that students deemed essential to her work. Comments from her student nominators included:

Her goal is clear in everything she does: to give students as many opportunities as possible to learn and to grow.

She leaves a light in everyone she meets.

She is the most kind-hearted, caring, compassionate, selfless and motivated person.

She goes above and beyond for her students.

She provides us with an ample amount of feedback on things that we are working on, whether good or bad.

She goes out of her way to thank us and give us recognition for the things we do.

The awards ceremony was sponsored by Student Affairs and the Student Government Association.

Past recipients of the Student Organization Advisor Award have included director of Student Engagement Jennifer Stewart, School of Communications associate professor Gary Ford and assistant professor of anthropology and chair of the multicultural studies committee JB Kwon.

Carpenter was in good company this year, nominated alongside these advisors: Anna Dickherber, RHA;  Bethany Keller, International Student Association; Jennifer Stewart, Student Government Association and Commuter Council; and Billy Ratz, Student Ambassadors.

Tags: ,

Category: Faculty, Student Affairs and News

Comments are closed.