Student Leadership Awards 2015: Celebrating student work

| May 6, 2015
Student Leadership Awards

Webster University’s 22nd Annual Student Leadership Awards, held April 24, saluted individual student leaders and student groups for excellence in various categories.

Music major Brooke Vonderheide was presented with The George Herbert Walker III Award for Leadership.

Music major Brooke Vonderheide was presented with The George Herbert Walker III Award for Leadership.

The 22nd Annual Student Leadership Awards Ceremony sponsored by Student Affairs and the Student Government Association, was held April 24, in the Community Music School Concert Hall. Student groups and individual students were recognized for their leadership involvement at the Webster Groves campus.

Approximately 170 students and guests were in attendance. Many of the awards were presented by alumni, former award recipients who returned to honor current student leaders.

Brooke Vonderheide, a graduating music major, was presented with The George Herbert Walker III Award for Leadership, which is awarded to the graduating senior who has demonstrated the most significant combination of academic achievement and leadership during his or her student years at Webster University. The award comes with a $2,100 scholarship.

View more photos of the Student Leadership Awards at the University’s Facebook page.

Individual Student Awards
  • Capstone Award for Leadership- Joshua Merseal
  • Global Citizen Award- Michael Grosch
  • Campus Life Award- Kristen McDowell
  • Campus Voice Award- Maggie Hake
  • Outstanding Leadership of a Student Organization- Gaby Deimeke and Katy Barry
  • Outstanding Contributions to SGA- Jenna Hopkins
  • Mission Critical Award- Caroline Wiley
  • Mark Govoni Emerging Leader Award- Nick Rau
Alumni Association Student Leadership Awards
  • Undergraduate- Suhani Fernando
  • Graduate- Alexandria McCuien
Student Government Association Outstanding Student Awards
  • Freshman- Zachary Kromer
  • Sophomore- Jared Campbell
  • Junior- Rosie Jones
Making a Difference Awards

A large number of students were awarded for their efforts in on-campus activities. Recipients of this award: Paige Alyssa Hegwood, Aly Chisum, Brooke Vonderheide, Casslyn Crain, Darren Lewis, Doreen Rwigamba, Emily Fry, Katie Parrish, Samantha LaBat, Stephanie Lefler, Stu Macki and Suhani Fernando.

27 students also received the WebsterLEADS Leadership Certificate and medallion which they will wear at commencement.

Student Organizations

The following awards were presented to student organizations:

  • Outstanding Contributions to Community Service: Delta Phi Epsilon
  • Outstanding Contributions to Cultural Awareness: Tribe – Jewish Student Council
  • Outstanding Contributions to Campus Social Life: Webster Quidditch
  • Most Improved Student Organization: Residential Housing Association and the Webster chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA)
  • Collaboration by an Employment Group or Departmental Organization: Campus Activities




Category: Campus Snapshots, St. Louis Campus News, Student Affairs and News

Comments are closed.