Accepting Nominations for Walker Leadership Award through Feb. 27

| February 17, 2015

Members of the Webster University community are encouraged to nominate an outstanding graduating senior for the 2015 George Herbert Walker III Award for Leadership.

This top award comes with a $2,000 scholarship, and is awarded to the graduating senior who has demonstrated the most significant combination of academic achievement and leadership during his or her student years at Webster. By creating this award, the Webster University Board of Trustees encourages excellence by publicly acknowledging students who have demonstrated leadership and academic distinction.

Click here to read more about the Walker Award and other student awards.

How to Submit a Nomination

Nominations should include the student’s name, ID number, address, phone number, examples of the nominee’s leadership involvement, a summary of the nominee’s leadership qualities, and a description of how the nominee has excelled academically. Contact Ted Hoef, associate vice president and dean of Students, with any nomination questions, at or 968-6980.

Click here to submit a nomination.


George Herbert (Bert) Walker III is a Life Trustee of the Webster University Board of Trustees. He previously served as Chairman of the Board of Trustees for five years during which time the University made extraordinary progress. Upon his initial retirement from the board’s chairmanship, the Board of Trustees established an endowed fund to encourage continuing excellence and achievement in the tradition of its namesake.

In October 2007, former U.S. Ambassador Walker bestowed upon Webster a gift of $10 million to benefit the School of Business and Technology.

Past Recipients of the George Herbert Walker III Award for Leadership:
  • 2014 – Courtney Turner
  • 2013 – Nicole King
  • 2012 – Emily Bahr
  • 2011 – Kelley Kasten
  • 2010 – Megan Goodrich
  • 2009 – Patrick Vacek
  • 2008 – Elizabeth Eisele and Quinn Gardner
  • 2007 – Susi Riegel
  • 2006 – Katie McComb
  • 2005 – Melissa Anderson
  • 2004 – Jenn Christ
  • 2003 – Stacey Hayes
  • 2002 – Adam Neal
  • 2001 – Jana Holstein
  • 2000 – Mindy Hampton
  • 1999 –  Justin Blandford
  • 1998 – Jennifer (Meyer) Starkey
  • 1997 – Phoong Tang

Category: Uncategorized

Comments are closed.