Celebrating Great Student Work at the Leadership Awards

| April 29, 2014
Student Leadership Awards

The annual Student Leadership Awards salute individual student leaders and organizations for excellence in a variety of categories.

The annual Student Leadership Awards ceremony was held in the University Center’s Grant Gymnasium on Friday, April 25, with over 140 students, faculty, staff, alumni, administrators and guests in attendance. This gala event celebrates the leadership and accomplishments achieved by Webster student organizations and individual student leaders throughout the academic year. Awards are given out in a large number of categories, culminating with the George Herbert Walker Prize, named after trustee emeritus George Herbert Walker III.

Other awards include individual leadership, student organization, the Alumni Outstanding Undergraduate and Graduate awards, the Student Government Association (SGA) Freshman, Sophomore, and Junior of the Year, and Student Organization Advisor.

Additionally, those students completing the Leadership Certificate Program as part of Webster LEADS are recognized. The ceremony is co-sponsored by the Office of Student Affairs and the Student Government Association.

For the first time, the Learning Happens Everywhere award was also presented to three faculty members for exemplary collaboration with Student Affairs.

Congratulations to all the winners.

Webster LEADS at Student Leadership Awards

Students completing the Leadership Certificate Program as part of Webster LEADS are also recognized.

2013-2014 Student Leadership Award Recipients
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year: JB Kwon – BaSS Club, and Kate Brooks – LASO
  • SGA Outstanding Freshman – Anna Cruzen
  • SGA Outstanding Sophomore – Jocelyn Cato
  • SGA Outstanding Junior – Kristen McDowell
  • Alumni Association Outstanding Undergraduate Student – Araba Budu-Anguah
  • Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate Student – Bill Boxdorfer
  • Mark Govoni Emerging Leader Award – Ethan Stohs
  • Outstanding Contributions to SGA – Lukumanu Sodamade, Vice President
  • Outstanding Leadership of a Student Organization – Sara McMullin, BaSS Club
  • Campus Voice Award – Caitlin Zera
  • Campus Life Award – Eroica Stackhouse
  • Global Citizen Award – Cindy Quan
  • Capstone Award for Leadership – Katie Coats
  • Most Improved Student Organization: Webster University Feminist Collective
  • Outstanding Contributions to Campus Social Life: Latin American Student Organization (LASO)
  • Outstanding Contributions to Cultural Awareness: Muslim Student Association
  • Outstanding Contributions to Community Service: Residential Housing Association
  • Collaborative Effort by an Employment Group/Departmentally Sponsored Organization:  2013-2014 Student Ambassadors
  • George Herbert Walker Prize for Leadership:  Courtney Turner

Tags: , ,

Category: Alumni, Campus Snapshots, St. Louis Campus News, Student Affairs and News

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Jennifer Gammage says:

    Great students and well deserved!