Faculty and Staff Honored at Annual Recognition Breakfast

| May 14, 2013

President Stroble commended faculty and staff for a beautiful Commencement and the close of the academic year.

An annual post-commencement tradition, Webster University faculty and staff gathered at the home campus in Webster Groves for the Faculty and Staff Recognition Breakfast Tuesday, May 14.

President Beth Stroble commented on Saturday’s successful 2013 Commencement ceremony, as well as highlights of the academic year that was. She commended faculty and staff for their awards and years of service and gave tribute to new retirees.

2013 William T. Kemper Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Provost Julian Schuster introduced the Kemper and Messing award winners, citing quotes from students and colleagues who nominated them for these prestigious awards.

The William T. Kemper Award for Excellence in Teaching is made possible by the William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank Trustees. Faculty members are nominated by their colleagues and are selected by a University committee.

Full-time Faculty

  • Kristen DiFate, assistant professor, Department of Communications & Journalism, St. Louis
  • Julie Palmer, assistant professor, Department of Management, St. Louis

Adjunct Faculty

  • Jack Delman, adjunct professor, Management, Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling, Washington, D.C.
  • Leon Hutton, adjunct professor, Business, Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling, Washington, D.C.

Wilma and Roswell Messing Jr. Faculty Award

The Wilma and Roswell Messing Jr. Faculty Award is presented each year to a full-time faculty member who presents the most promising proposal for a summer activity that will strengthen the curriculum of his or her department and the University, or will improve the teaching and learning relationship. Faculty proposals are peer-reviewed by an appointed University committee.

Britt-Marie Schiller, chair and professor, Philosophy, is the 2012-13 winner. She will study feminist philosophy, in particular the work of the philosopher Luce Irigaray, from a Nordic perspective. She will attend a conference in Norway where she will network with other feminist philosophers to gain an understanding of Nordic feminist philosophy.

She also intends to strengthen her knowledge of Ludwig Wittgenstein through several activities. Her study this summer will prepare her to develop an upper level class on Irigaray offered jointly with the Women and Gender Studies Program, and will also add an international component to her Feminist Theories course, two Philosophy courses and senior seminars in Philosophy.

Staff Member of the Year

Cherry accepts the Staff Member of the Year award from President Stroble.

Academic advisor Tyann Cherry was honored as the 2012-13 Staff Members of the Year for demonstrating untiring dedication in providing support services to students as well as administrative and technical support to the Office of Academic Advising. Cherry is “a problem solver, whose knowledge of how to execute plans has resulted in many students — who might otherwise have been missed — having the opportunity to complete their degrees.”

She was also credited for her assistance in executing of the Military Tuition Assistance Program (MTAP) this spring. “Working with key University employees over the weekend, Tyann handled the difficult task, making the operation seamless.”

Memorial Day Holiday

Also at the breakfast, it was announced that the faculty/staff campaign goal was reached, meaning University employees would receive the Friday before Memorial Day off as a paid holiday.

Category: Employee News, Faculty

Comments are closed.