Forensic & Debate Team Success at National Tournament

| March 28, 2011

The Webster University forensic and debate team grabbed a ninth place finish at the 2011 Pi Kappa Delta national tournament and convention, held March 23-25 at Mt. Hood Community College in Portland, Ore.  The tournament was attended by 85 schools and included nearly 800 participants and almost 2,000 entries in a full range of debate, performance, and public address events.

Highlighting the team finish were two national championships, a number of other individual and team awards, and the swearing in of Gina Jensen, assistant director of Forensics, as the next national president of the national forensic honorary.

Jensen was inducted by her husband and director of Forensics Scott Jensen, himself a former national president and current national tournament director. The membership also accepted the formal bid from Webster to host the 2013 national tournament and convention—the honorary’s centennial event—during spring break of 2013.

This marks a decade of the team placing in the top 10 team sweepstakes competition at Pi Kappa Delta’s annual national tournament. Scott Jensen noted this year’s team, by far, is the youngest Webster has ever fielded. The team came together with their best effort, incredible poise and character, and tremendous heart and continued a legacy of excellence that many before them have worked to make a defining part of Webster forensics.

Other highlights included the appointment of Adam Schneider, co-president of the team, as a student member to the national council, and the inclusion of two alumna of the program, Deanna Beaton and Megan (Goodrich) Chibanga as members of the national tournament staff. Assistant coach Tom Serfass served the membership as an at-large member of the national council. Webster alumna and director of Forensics Ryan Louis was also elected to a two-year term on the national council.

Students contributing to the team’s success include:  Colton Farrell, Stephanie Goggin, Andrea Harper. Shea Holland, Gary Jackson, Richard Lowry, Ronnie Marchlewski, Andrea Pepper, Justin Raymundo, Melissa Uhl. Alumna Sean Lynn also accompanied the team as a judge and assistant.  To earn team recognition at this level, each and every student contributes invaluably to the overall success of the group, including a dedicated group of alumna who assist with coaching and mentoring.

Full list of Webster awards won at 2011 Pi Kappa Delta National Tournament and Convention

9th Place            Overall Team Sweepstakes

8th Place                 Individual Events Team Sweepstakes
1st Place                  Gary Jackson, Poetry Interpretation
1st Place                  Shea Holland, To Honor the Immigrants
2nd Place                Richard Lowry, Editorial Impromptu
5th Place                 Gary Jackson & Andrea Pepper, Duo Interpretation
5th Place                 Gary Jackson, Discussion
7th Place                 Gary Jackson & Justin Raymundo, Duo Interpretation
9th Place                 Colton Farrell & Ronnie Marchlewski, Novice Parliamentary Debate
10th Place               Justin Raymundo, Impromptu Speaking
15th Place               Shea Holland, After Dinner Speaking
18th Place               Richard Lowry & Justin Raymundo, Open Parliamentary Debate
19th Place               Prose Interpretation, Andrea Pepper
Excellent                 Colton Farrell, Novice International Public Debate Association Debate
Excellent                  Richard Lowry, Impromptu Speaking
Excellent                  Richard Lowry, Extemporaneous Speaking
Excellent                  Justin Raymundo, Prose Interpretation
Excellent                  Justin Raymundo, Editorial Impromptu
Excellent                  Justin Raymundo, Poetry Interpretation
Excellent                  Andrea Pepper, Dramatic Interpretation

Category: Advancement, Faculty, St. Louis Campus News, Student Affairs and News

Comments are closed.