Faculty and Staff Recognition Breakfast Highlights

| May 21, 2010
‘Welcome to Our Annual Year-End Party’
Putting an exclamation point on Webster’s academic year was the May 11 faculty/staff recognition breakfast.

Faculty & staff members with 25-years of service try out their Webster University chairs. Photo by Claudia Burris

Energized by her first commencement as University president, Beth Stroble shared her impressions of the Commencement weekend activities, including: Friday’s rehearsal at The Muny, which “looked great in Webster blue and gold”; Friday night’s Gradfest celebration for graduates and guests; and the pre-Commencement dinner where she made the acquaintance of the honorary doctoral degree candidates, author Patricia McKissack and Lt. Col. Gregory Gadson.

“For me it was a weekend of firsts after a wonderful whirlwind year of firsts,” Stroble said, before turning to the business of recognizing faculty and staff accomplishments for 2009-10.

First on the agenda was announcing the Emeritus status of two retiring faculty members: Kathryn Bowers, professor, Music; and Paul Steinman, School of Education. Emeritus status is based on lengthy years of service to the University.

James Staley, vice president, Academic Affairs, presented the 2009-10 William T. Kemper Excellence in Teaching Award recipients to:

  • Bill Barrett, professor, Electronic & Photographic Media;
  • Michael Erickson, associate professor, English;
  • Patricia Belshe, adjunct professor, Math & Computer Science; and
  • Aaron DeWispelare, adjunct professor, Fort Sam Houston Metropolitan Campus, Texas.

This year’s Wilma and Roswell Messing Jr. Faculty Award was received by Kate Parsons, associate professor, Philosophy.

The following 2009-10 staff retirees were recognized:

  • Jay Cooley, financial aid counselor, Academic Affairs, 17 years of service;
  • Connie Mlynarczyk, representative, Biological Sciences, 9 years of service;
  • Kathy Nystron, head of technical services, Emerson Library, 9 years of service; and
  • Kay Sanders, director of marketing and publications, Marketing, 17 years of service.

These 2009-10 staff retirees were appointed University Associate status, which is the staff equivalent of faculty Emeritus status, based on years of service:

  • Karen Freeman, senior academic advisor, Academic Advising, 36 years of service;
  • Marilyn Heaven, director, School of Education, 38 years of service;
  • Sharon Lowney, financial aid reports coordinator, Financial Aid, 30 years of service;
  • Mary Peterson, director, Administrative Information Systems, 39 years of Service; and
  • Mary Walls, database programmer/analyst, Web Services & Integration, 23 years service.

Laura Wainz receives Staff Member of the Year Award from President Stroble. Photo by Claudia Burris

Sharing the 2009-10 Staff Member of the Year Award are Laura Wainz, coordinator, Online Learning Center, and Ben Shriver, faculty coordinator, Rolla Metropolitan Campus, Mo.

Two colleagues were recognized for serving in constituency leadership positions this year: Ralph Olliges, president of the Faculty Senate; associate professor and chairperson, coordinator, MAT EDTC Program; and Caprice Moore, chair of Webster Staff Alliance; coordinator of operations, School of Business & Technology.

“You make Webster work,” President Stroble said in closing. “Your individual commitments to our mission and vision will keep us strong and take Webster to the next level.”

Category: Webster Events

Comments are closed.