March 2010 Kampus Kudos

| March 24, 2010

Warren Rosenblum, associate professor, History, Politics and International Relations, received one of 16 American Philosophical Society sabbatical fellowships granted for 2011. The fellowships supplement sabbaticals previously awarded in the humanities and social sciences. Rosenblum will use his sabbatical year to write a book about the Magdeburg justice scandal of 1926. He previously authored Beyond the Prison Gates: Punishment and Welfare in Germany 1850-1933 (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2009).

April Tate, department associate, History, Politics and International Relations, was recognized in the February 2010 issue of “St. Louis Alive” magazine in the article, “St. Louis’ Most Influential People, Places and Ideas,” for her work as founder of the St. Louis chapter of Craft Mafia, a group of independent crafts people.

Gary Gottlieb, associate professor, Electronic and Photographic Media, recently had his third book, How Does It Sound Now? Legendary Engineers and Vintage Gear, published by Course Technology PTR. For the book, Gottlieb interviewed engineers aged 40s to 80s about their experiences transitioning through different technologies: analog to digital, wire to tape and CD to mp3.

William McCorkle, visiting assistant professor, Religious Studies, recently had his book, Ritualizing The Disposal of The Deceased, published by Peter Lang Publishing, Inc. The book chronicles mortuary behavior from the early fossil record to modern religious contexts in diverse cultural settings.

James Brasfield, chair and professor, Management, was recently named book review editor for the Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law. As editor, his responsibility is to track newly published books in the health policy field and select those of the greatest interest to readers for review. Readership of the journal includes academics and health policy specialists who follow health policy issues closely as part of their routine work. For more information

David Clewell, professor, English, was named Missouri’s poet laureate by Gov. Jay Nixon, a title he will hold for two years. Clewell attended the March 3 announcement in Jefferson City with his wife, Patricia, and son, Ben. His responsibilities as poet laureate include promoting the arts in Missouri by making appearances at public libraries and schools across the state and composing an original poem in honor of Missouri that may be used for publication and distribution. Clewell has published seven poetry collections, including: “Blessings in Disguise,” “Now We’re Getting Somewhere,” and “The Low End of Higher Things.”

Tyann Cherry, senior academic advisor, Academic Advising, was elected chair of the Distance Education Advising Commission of the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA), a two-year position starting October 2012.

Judith Croxton receives 9th Air Force Civilian of the Year Award.

Judith Croxton, adjunct professor, Shaw Air Force Base, S.C., was selected the 9th Air Force Civilian of the Year at the 2009 Outstanding Performer of the Year Award ceremonies  March 4 at Seymour-Johnson Air Force Base. She is director of Business Operations and Small Business Specialist for the 20th Contracting Squadron.

Ted Hoef, associate vice president and dean of students, Student Affairs; John Buck, director, Housing and Residential Life, and associate dean of students, Student Affairs; and Sarah Tetley, assistant director, Housing and Residential Life, Student Affairs, made a presentation about the Delegates’ Agenda program in March at the NASPA (Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Educaiton) Annual Conference in Chicago. Hoef also made the presentation at the November 2009 NASPA Region IV-West Conference in Santa Fe, N.M. Webster University was recognized with a NASPA Excellence Bronze Award for the Delegates’ Agenda program. The NAPSA Excellence Awards recognize the contributions of members who are transforming higher education through outstanding programs, innovative services and effective administration. More about NASPA Award

Category: Uncategorized

Comments are closed.